August 8, 1999 -- 19th Sunday "A"

1 Kgs 19,9a,11-13a; Rom. 9,1-5; Matt. 14,22-33

 

H O M I L Y

 

The story of Jesus' walk on the water, which is linked with the miracle of the loaves by Matthew, Mark and John, records an experi ence of the disciples which has made a deep impression on these intimate companions of Jesus. The individual presentations diverge somewhat... but they all reach their peak in the encounter of Jesus with the disciples on the sea and the sublime and consoling words of Jesus: "Take heart, it is I; have no fear."

After the multiplication of the loaves Jesus tells the disciples to go to the other shore by boat, and himself, after sending the crowd away, goes to the mountain to pray. Then, towards the morning he comes to them walking on the water. Mark (6,48) has here a detail that seems a little strange, but that is of very great importance. He says that Jesus was going "to pass them by" when they saw him. How was he to pass them by, when he was explicitly going to meet them. The expression is obviously a allusion to some of the most powerful scenes of the O.T.

Moses wanted to see the face of God. God told him that he could not see his face and live but, God said, "I will make all my goodness pass before you, and will proclaim before you my name" (Ex 33,19); he invited him to go on the top of mount Horeb and, he said, "While my glory passes by I will put you in a cleft of the rock, and I will cover you with my hand until I have passed by (Ex 33,22).

The story of Elijah, (our first reading) is a repetition of what happened to Moses. Elijah hid in the same cleft of the rock, "And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the Lord (1 Kgs 19,11)... and when the gentle breeze came, Elijah experienced the presence of God.

The fact is that God is constantly passing us by. Most of the time we are not aware of his passage, either because we are dis tracted, self-centered, or because we try to find him in extraordinary events, while he is passing by in the person of a brother, a friend, a poor who needs our help, etc.

Moses was sent back to his people; so was Elijah. The disciples, after that encounter with Jesus, suddenly found themselves on the shore ready to start a new day of missionary work with Jesus.

In our life, God gives us moments of intense intimacy with him like Peter, James and John had on Mount Thabor; and we may say like Peter: "It is good to be here, let's build some tents..." But our experience of God here on earth, is the experience of a God who simply passes us by, in the person of other human beings.

*******************

Armand Veilleux

8 août 1999 - 19ème dimanche ordinaire "A"
1 Rois 19,9a,11-13a; Rom. 9,1-5; Matt. 14,22-33

 

HOMÉLIE

Le récit de la marche de Jésus sur les eaux, que Matthieu, Marc et Jean rattachent au miracle de la multiplication des pains, rapporte une expérience qui laissa une impression profonde sur les disciples de Jésus. Chacun de ces trois Évangélistes raconte les faits d'une façon quelque peu différente des deux autres; mais dans chaque cas l'histoire trouve son sommet dans la rencontre de Jésus avec ses disciples sur la mer, et dans les paroles sublimes et consolantes de Jésus: "Courage, c'est moi, n'ayez pas peur."

Après la multiplication des pains Jésus dit a ses disciples de se rendre sur l'autre rive du lac par bateau, alors que lui-même, après avoir renvoyé la foule, va dans la montagne pour prier. Alors, vers le matin, il vient a leur rencontre marchant sur les eaux. Marc a ici un détail qui peut sembler étrange, mais qui est d'une grande importance. Il dit que Jésus "allait les dépasser" ou "passer près d'eux", lorsqu'ils le virent. Comment allait-il les dépasser alors qu'il venait précisément pour les rencontrer? L'expression est évidemment une allusion a une des scènes les plus fortes de l'Ancien Testament.

Moïse voulait voir la face de Dieu. Celui-ci lui dit qu'il ne pouvait pas voir Sa face et vivre; mais il ajouta: "je ferai passer toute ma bonté devant toi, et je proclamerai mon nom devant toi" (Ex 33,19). Il l'invita a se rendre au sommet du mont Horeb, disant: "Alors que ma gloire passera, je te placerai dans la fente du rocher, et je te couvrirai de ma main jusqu'à ce que je t'aie dépassé" (Ex 33,22).

L'histoire d'Élie (notre première lecture) est une répétition de ce qui arriva a Moïse. Élie se cacha dans la même fente du rocher, "Et voici que le Seigneur passa, et un grand vent déchira les montagnes et réduisit en pièces les rochers devant le Seigneur" (1 Rois, 19.11). Et lorsque survint la brise légère Élie fit l'expérience de la présence de Dieu.

En réalité, Dieu passe constamment près de nous. La plupart du temps nous ne sommes pas conscients de son passage, soit que nous soyons distraits, ou repliés sur nous-mêmes, ou que nous essayons de le trouver dans des événements extraordinaires, alors qu'il passe près de nous dans la personne d'un frère, d'un ami, d'un pauvre qui a besoin de notre aide, etc.

Moïse fut renvoyé a son peuple, De même en fut-il d'Élie. Les disciples, après leur rencontre avec Jésus, se retrouvèrent subitement sur l'autre rive du lac, prêts à commencer une nouvelle journée de travail missionnaire avec Jésus.

Dans notre vie, Dieu nous donne des moments d'intense intimité avec Lui, comme à Pierre, Jacques et Jean sur le mont Thabor, et nous voudrions parfois dire comme Pierre: "Il est bon d'être ici; construisons trois tentes"... Mais notre expérience de Dieu ici-bas est l'expérience d'un Dieu qui passe tout simplement près de nous dans la personne d'autres êtres humains.