July 4, 1999 -- 14th Sunday "A"
Zech 9,9-10; Rom 8,9.11-13; Mt 11,25-30

H O M I L Y

The Gospel we have just read has very interesting and extremely revealing points of contact with the Magnificat, the Virgin Mary's song of praise.

First, Jesus praises his Father for having revealed to the little ones what was hidden from the learned and the clever. Then he invites everyone to take his yoke upon their shoulders and to become his disciples, for, he says, "I am gentle and humble of heart."

The little ones, the humble ones, the lowly, have a very special place in the Gospel. The Father has a preferential love for them. Mary is one of them, and she proclaims at the beginning of her Magnificat: "My soul glorifies the Lord... for he has tenderly looked upon the lowliness of his servant." The Greek word used here (tapeinôsin) is translated differently in the various translations of the Bible: humility, lowliness, humble condition. But it is the corresponding adjective that is used by Jesus in today's Gospel, when he says that he is gentle and "humble" (tapeinos) of heart. And it is the same word again used by Mary when she says that the Lord has cast down the mighty from their thrones and exalted the "lowly", the humble ones (tapeinous).

When Jesus glorifies the Father for revealing to the little ones things hidden from the clever, the little ones he is talking about are his disciples. And they were not naive children. They were mature men who knew the ways of this world: Matthew, the tax collector, who knew how to make money; Jude the Zealot who knew the art of guerrilla; Peter, John and James, fishermen who knew how to steer a boat on the lake and how to throw a net. They had abandoned everything in order to be Jesus' disciples. When Jesus invites them -- and us -- to simplicity of heart he does not invite us to a form of childish attitude or to a childish type of spirituality. He invites us to a very demanding form of poverty of heart. He invites us to follow him as disciples and therefore to abandon all our securities and especially our thirst for power in the same way as his own disciples have abandoned everything.

The first reading, from Zechariah, describes the Messiah coming not as a powerful king on his horse, but as a simple, meek savior on an a donkey. Paul, the clever and the mighty Pharisee, who was thrown down on his way to Damascus has learned the path of humility and lowliness, and he describes it as the life according to the spirit as distinct to the life according to the flesh.

The great characteristic of the child is his powerlessness. The child may be as intelligent, loving, etc. as an adult. But because he has not yet accumulated learning, material possessions and social relationships, he is powerless. As soon as we become adults, we want to exercise power and control: over our lives, over others, over material things, sometimes even over God. It is what Jesus is asking us to renounce when he invites us to be like little children.

A good exercise at self-awareness would be to examine the various ways in which, in the various aspects of our life, we thirst for power and we fight to defend this power of ours. And then let us look at our Lord who came not as a powerful king on his horse, but as a powerless and humble prophet on a donkey.

Let us look also at the lowliness of his most holy servant, his mother, and with her let us sing with a renewed joy and hope: " He has cast down the mighty from their thrones and exalted the lowly." And may it be that, one day, all together we can sing for ages and ages: " Blessed be the Lord the God of Israel, for he has looked upon the lowliness of his servants."

4 juillet 1999 -- 14ème dimanche "A"
Za 9,9-10; Rm 8,9.11-13; Mt 11,25-30

H O M É L I E

L'Évangile que nous venons de lire comprend quelques points de contact avec le Magnificat de la Vierge Marie, qui sont très intéressants et extrêmement révélateurs.

Tout d'abord, Jésus rend gloire à son père d'avoir révélé aux "petits" ce qu'il a caché aux savants et aux sages. Puis il invite chacun à prendre son joug sur ses épaules et à devenir son disciple car, dit-il, "Je suis doux et humble de coeur".

Les petits, les humbles, ont une place toute spéciale dans l'Évangile. Le Père a pour eux un amour préférentiel. Marie est l'une d'entre eux, et elle le proclame au début du Magnificat: "Mon âme exalte le Seigneur... car il s'est penché sur la petitesse de sa servante." Le mot grec utilisé ici (tapeinôsin) est traduit différemment dans les diverses traductions de la Bible: humilité, petitesse, humble condition. Or, c'est l'adjectif correspondant que Jésus utilise dans l'Évangile d'aujourd'hui lorsqu'il dit qu'il est doux et "humble" (tapeinos) de coeur. Et c'est encore le même mot que Marie utilise plus loin dans son Magnificat, lorsqu'elle dit que le Seigneur a renversé les puissants de leurs trônes et exalté les "petits", les humbles (tapeinous).

Lorsque Jésus rend gloire à son Père pour avoir révélé aux petits les choses cachées aux sages, les petits dont il parle sont ses disciples. Et ils n'étaient pas de naïfs enfants. Ils étaient des homme adultes qui connaissaient les façons de faire du monde: Matthieu, le collecteur d'impôts, savait faire de l'argent; Jude, le Zélote, connaissait l'art de la guérilla; Pierre, Jacques et Jean étaient des pêcheurs qui savaient guider leur barque sur le lac et jeter le filet. Ils avaient tout abandonné pour devenir des disciples de Jésus. Lorsque celui-ci les invite -- et nous invite -- à la simplicité du coeur, il ne nous invite pas à une attitude enfantine ou à un type enfantin de spiritualité. Il nous invite à une forme très exigeante de pauvreté du coeur. Il nous invite à le suivre comme disciples et donc à abandonner toutes nos sources de sécurité, et spécialement notre soif de pouvoir, de la même façon que ses disciples avaient tout abandonné pour le suivre.

La première lecture, du livre de Zacharie, décrit le Messie venant non pas comme un roi puissant sur son cheval, mais comme un simple et doux sauveur assis sur un âne. Paul, le sage et puissant Pharisien, qui fut renversé sur le chemin de Damas, apprit la voie de l'humilité et de la petitesse, et il la décrivit comme la vie selon l'esprit, distincte de la vie selon la chair.

La grande caractéristique de l'enfant est son impuissance. L'enfant peut être, à sa façon, aussi intelligent, aimant, etc. qu'un adulte. Mais parce qu'il n'a pas encore accumulé de connaissances, de possessions matérielles et de relations sociales, il est dépourvu de pouvoir. Dès que nous devenons adultes, nous voulons exercer pouvoir et contrôle: sur nos propres vies, sur les autres personnes, sur les choses matérielles, et parfois même sur Dieu. C'est à cela que Jésus nous demande de renoncer lorsqu'il nous demande d'être comme de petits enfants.

Un exercice utile de connaissance de soi pourrait être d'examiner les diverses formes sous lesquelles s'exprime, dans les divers aspects de notre vie, notre soif de pouvoir, et comment nous défendons ce pouvoir. Contemplons alors notre Seigneur qui est venu non pas comme un roi puissant sur son trône, mais comme un prophète humble et sans pouvoir, sur un âne.

Regardons aussi la petitesse de sa très sainte servante, sa mère, et avec elle, chantons avec une joie et un espoir renouvelés: "Il renverse les puissants de leurs trônes, il élève les humbles". Et puissions-nous, un jour, chanter tous ensemble durant les siècles des siècles: "Béni soit le Dieu d'Israël, car il a regardé la petitesse de ses serviteurs."