June 27, 1999 -- 13th Sunday "A"
2 Kgs 4,8-11.14-16a; Rom 6,3-4.8-11; Mt 10,37-42

 

H O M I L Y

(pronounced at Holy Spirit Abbey, Conyers, Georgia, USA)

 

Jesus had a place in Bethany, near Jerusalem, where he knew he could stop at any time with his disciples for a meal or a moment of rest. It was the house of Mary, Martha and Lazarus. Likewise the prophet Elisha had his own room in the house of an influential woman in Shunem. In both cases as in so many cases in the Bible, we see that hospitality is linked with the gift of life: either the announcement of a new life or the restoration life to someone who was dead.

A few Sundays ago, on the Feast of the Trinity, we read the beautiful story from the Book of Genesis, where Abraham received three mysterious visitors, and as a reward for that generous hospitality of the desert, he and his wife gave birth to a son in their old age. Likewise the prophet Elijah, after receiving hospitality from the widow of Zarephath, brought her dead son back to life (1 Kgs 17, 7-24). In today's first reading, the woman of Shunem who received the prophet Elisha (disciple of Elijah) received, like Sarah, the gift of fecundity and gave birth to a son. In the Gospel, Mary and Martha obtained the resurrection of their brother Lazarus from their guest, Jesus.

At the last Supper, Jesus told his disciple something both very simple and very deep, the meaning of which cannot be totally perceived without replacing it in the larger context that I have just mentioned. It was the phrase where Jesus said: "If you love me, you will observe my commandment; my Father will love you; we will come and we will make our dwelling with you." In that short sentence, there is first the statement that God wants to make his dwelling in us, in each one of us. This is a tremendous mystery on which we could meditate with love for ever. But there is also the affirmation of the condition that must be fulfilled for that to happen. The condition is : "If you love me you will observe my commandment..." Of course, the commandment in question is the commandment of love mentioned by Jesus just before: "Love one another as I have loved you". Those last few words : "as I have loved you" indicate what is new, really new, in Jesus message. His message is that love must go beyond the traditional bonds of solidarity of a family, a tribe, a nation, a religion. It must embrace everyone, without any exception, but most especially, the weak, the poor, the abandoned.

There was a very keen sense of solidarity in the Jewish people. Love and care for all the members of the extended family and all the kinsmen were sacred precepts. The Old Testament abounded in precepts like: "You must not slander your own people... You must not bear hatred for your brother... You must not exact vengeance... against your people. You must love your neighbor as yourself... (Lv. 19:16-18). But brotherhood towards some always involved enmity towards others.

The shocking message of Jesus was that he wanted to include everyone in that solidarity of love, even one's enemies; and he did not hesitate to spell out the almost inconceivable consequences: "Do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who treat you badly" (Lk 6:27-28). "If you love those who love you, what thanks can you expect? Even sinners love those who love them". (Lk 6:32). Group solidarity is natural (it can be very strong among thieves, for example!). Jesus is appealing for an experience of solidarity with the whole of humankind. This is more than what we call Christian brotherhood, that is, the reciprocal or mutual love of those who share the wonderful experience of being disciples of Christ. Jesus asks for more: he asks for a loving solidarity that includes everyone, and rejects absolutely no one.

On the day of the Judgment, the Lord will say: "I was hungry, I was thirsty, I was naked, I was in jail... What you did to the most little one of mine, you did it to me." That's exactly the same message that we find in today's Gospel, when Jesus says to his disciples, those whom he constantly calls "the little ones": "He who welcomes you welcomes me, and he who welcomes me welcomes him who sent me... And I promise you that whoever gives a cup of cold water to one of these lowly ones because he is a disciple will not want for his reward."

And, finally, the first verse of today's Gospel about renouncing father and mother or son and daughter to follow Christ -- which seems to be quite out of context here -- is really not out of context. What Jesus is saying is that in order to be his disciples, to love as he has loved, one must break some barriers; one must transcend the limits of the natural family, the clan, the nation, one must transcend the solidarity that anyone experiences as natural, in order to grow into a solidarity that embraces all those who are embraced by Jesus' love.

That message is as important today as it was in Jesus' time. It is amazing how often, after two thousand years of Christianity, even in countries that call themselves Christian, our love and solidarity with other human beings is restricted by our loyalties and prejudices of race, nationality, language, culture, class, ancestry, family, generation, political party and religious denomination. Our love is too often exclusive. Jesus wants it to be totally inclusive.

27 juin 1999 -- 13ème dimanche "A"
2 Rois 4,8-11.14-16a; Rom 6,3-4.8-11; Mat 10,37-42

H O M É L I E

(Traduite de l'anglais)

Jésus avait à Béthanie, près de Jérusalem, un endroit où il savait qu'il pouvait s'arrêter n'importe quand avec ses disciples pour un repas ou un moment de repose. C'était la maison de Marthe, Marie et Lazare. De même, le prophète Élie avait sa chambre dans la maison d'une femme influente de Shunem. Dans l'un et l'autre cas, comme si souvent dans la Bible, nous voyons l'hospitalité liée au don de la vie : soit l'annonce d'une vie nouvelle, soit le retour à la vie pour quelqu'un qui était mort.

Le jour de la Fête de la Sainte Trinité, que nous avons célébrée récemment, nous avons lu le beau récit du Livre de la Genèse décrivant comment Abraham, après avoir donné l'hospitalité à trois mystérieux visiteurs, reçut comme récompense d'avoir de sa femme un fils, dans leur vieillesse. De même, le prophète Élie, après avoir reçu l'hospitalité de la veuve de Sarepta, ramena son fils à la vie (1 Rois 17, 7-24). Dans la première lecture d'aujourd'hui, la femme de Shunem qui reçut chez elle le prophète Élisée (disciple d'Élie) reçut, comme Sara, le don de la fécondité et donna naissance à un fils (2 Rois 4, 8-17). Enfin, dans l'Évangile, Marie et Marthe obtiennent de leur hôte, Jésus, la résurrection de leur frère, Lazare.

À la dernière Cène, Jésus dit à ses disciples quelque chose de très simple et de très profond à la fois, dont le sens ne peut être pleinement perçu qu'en le replaçant dans le contexte plus général que nous venons d'évoquer. Il s'agit de l'affirmation: "Si vous m'aimez, vous observerez mon commandement; mon Père vous aimera; nous viendrons et nous ferons chez vous notre demeure." Dans cette brève phrase, il y a d'abord l'affirmation que Dieu veut faire sa demeure en chacun de nous. C'est là un mystère sur lequel nous pouvons méditer avec amour sans fin. Mais il y a aussi l'expression de la condition qui doit être remplie pour que cela se produise. La condition est celle-ci: "Si vous m'aimez, vous observerez mon commandement..." Il s'agit évidemment du commandement de l'amour mentionné par Jésus un peu auparavant: "Aimez-vous les uns les autres, comme je vous ai aimés". Ces derniers mots: "comme je vous ai aimés" indiquent en quoi le commandement de Jésus est nouveau -- vraiment nouveau. Son message est que l'amour doit aller au delà des liens traditionnels de solidarité au sein d'une famille, d'une tribu, d'une nation, d'une religion. Il doit embrasser tout le monde, sans exception, mais tout spécialement les faibles, les pauvres, les abandonnés.

Le peuple juif avait un sens très aigu de solidarité. L'amour et l'attention portés à tous les membres de la famille élargie et de la même tribu étaient des préceptes sacrés. L'Ancien Testament est rempli de préceptes comme: "Tu ne calomnieras pas ton propre peuple... Tu n'auras pas de haine pour ton frère... Tu n'exerceras pas vengeance... contre ton peuple. Tu dois aimer ton prochain comme toi-même... (cf. Lév. 19, 16-18). Cependant, la fraternité envers les uns impliquait toujours l'hostilité envers les autres.

Le message troublant de Jésus était qu'il voulait inclure tout le monde dans cette solidarité d'amour, même les ennemis. Il n'hésita pas à en énumérer les conséquences presque inconcevables: "Faites du bien à ceux qui vous haïssent, bénissez ceux qui vous maudissent, priez pour ceux qui vous font du mal" (Luc 6:27-28). "Si vous aimez ceux qui vous aiment, quelle reconnaissance pouvez-vous espérer? Même les pécheurs aiment ceux qui les aiment." (Luc 6:32). L'esprit de groupe est naturel (il peut être très fort entre voleurs, par exemple !). Jésus demande une solidarité étendue à tout l'humanité. Cela est plus que ce que nous appelons la fraternité chrétienne, c'est-à-dire l'amour réciproque entre ceux qui partagent l'expérience merveilleuse d'être disciples du Christ. Jésus demande plus: il demande une solidarité pleine d'amour qui inclue tout le monde et ne rejette absolument personne.

Le jour du Jugement, le Seigneur dira: "J'ai eu faim... j'ai eu soif... j'étais nu... j'étais en prison... Ce que vous avez fait au plus petit d'entre les miens, c'est à moi que vous l'avez fait." C'est exactement le même message que nous trouvons dans l'évangile d'aujourd'hui, lorsque Jésus dit à ses disciples -- ceux qu'il appelle constamment "les petits": "Celui qui vous reçoit me reçoit, et celui qui me reçoit, reçoit celui qui m'a envoyé... Et je vous promets que quiconque aura donné un verre d'eau froide à un de ces petits parce qu'il est un de mes disciples, ne sera pas sans récompense."

Et, finalement, le premier verset de l'évangile d'aujourd'hui, au sujet du renoncement à son père et à sa mère, à son fils ou à sa fille pour suivre le Christ -- qui semble tellement hors contexte ici -- n'est vraiment pas hors contexte. Ce que dit Jésus, c'est que, pour être ses disciples, pour aimer comme il a aimé, il faut faire tomber les barrières. Il faut transcender les limites de la famille naturelle, du clan, de la nation. Il faut transcender la forme de solidarité que l'on éprouve naturellement, afin de s'élever jusqu'à une solidarité qui embrasse tous ceux qui sont embrassés par l'amour de Jésus.

Ce message est aussi important aujourd'hui qu'il l'était au temps du Christ. Il est surprenant de voir à quel point, après deux mille ans de christianisme, même dans des pays qui se considèrent chrétiens, notre amour et notre solidarité avec les autres êtres humains sont souvent limités par nos loyautés ou préjudices de race, de nation, de langue, de culture, de classe, de famille, de génération, de parti politique ou d'appartenance religieuse. Notre amour est trop souvent exclusif. Jésus le veut totalement inclusif.