April 2, 2000 -- 4th Sunday of Lent "B"

2 Ch 36, 14...23; Eph 2, 4-10;  John 3,14-21

 

 

 

H O M I L Y

 

In the Gospel readings of the last several Sundays, led by Mark at first, and then by John, we have followed Jesus through the first months of his public life.  We have witnessed the powerful moment of his baptism, and then his temptation in the desert.  We have seen him choosing his disciples and changing water into wine at the wedding in Cana. And we saw him expel the money changers from the Temple.

 

Many were those who believed in him because of his first miracles.  A few unhesitantly believed with deep faith.  Others refused to believe and violently rejected him.  But the great majority had a middle-of-the-road, ambiguous faith:  a mixture of natural religiosity and natural attraction towards the extraordinary or the miraculous; a faith without too much commitment.

 

One of those ambiguous believers was Nicodemus. I really like Nicodemus, because he is so much one of us.  He believes but does not have the courage to assume all the consequences of his faith totally; nevertheless Jesus takes him seriously.  Being a doctor in Israel he knows the Scriptures.  He can see that God is with Jesus, but does not go as far as to recognize that God is in Jesus.  He comes to him in order to know more, but he comes during the night.  He is a seeker, a seeker in the darkness.  His faith will grow but he will always remain somewhat ambiguous. He feels close to Jesus but he also stays away from him.  He will be there at the time of Jesus' burial, but not too close.

 

Today's Gospel reading is taken from the dialogue between Jesus and Nicodemus as reported in the first chapters of John's Gospel.  Jesus takes Nicodemus where he is on his journey and leads him further.   Exactly what He does with us when we come to Him in our own darkness.  Nicodemus had come to look for light in darkness; they don't go together, and Jesus challenged him to choose between light and darkness.

 

The real light is the one of Transfiguration:  it implies death and it  requires the doing of truth.  Salvation is not for those of have vague beliefs but for those who act in truth or, to translate the Greek literally, those who "do the truth".

 

The newness of Jesus' message appears here in all its light.  The message is that God is not an eternally immobile first principle.  God has a future and His future is in men's hands.  Salvation is not at the end of history, but is part op it. The cross is planted at the heart of human history, at the heart of a world devoured by strife and misery.  The world of the mighty where the lowly are trampled upon was the world that Jesus knew, the world that put him to death, the world that he came to redeem.

 

It was by assuming human misery that Jesus made it possible for us to be delivered from it.  Not through miracles -- the signs that the Pharisees demanded as a proof of his messiahship -- but through a transfiguration of men's eyes and hearts.  Today the Cross of Christ is planted at the heart of Kosovo, of Middle East, of Congo and of so many other parts of the world, in this  third millennium coming to birth through so much pain and groaning.  The future of these countries and of their people -- which is our future and God's future -- depends on us.  It depends on whether our eyes are transformed enough to allow us to see the sign of the cross planted in the midst of that suffering and bleeding humankind.

2 avril 2000 – 4ème dimanche de Carême "B"

2 Ch 36, 14...23; Eph 2, 4-10;  Jean 3,14-21

 

H O M É L I E

 

            Dans les lectures d'Évangile des derniers dimanches, guidés d'abord par Marc, puis par Jean, nous avons suivi Jésus au cours des premiers mois de sa vie publique.  Nous avons été témoins de l'événement intense que fut son baptême, puis de sa tentation au désert.  Nous l'avons vu choisir ses disciples et changer l'eau en vin à Cana.  Et nous l'avons regardé chasser les changeurs de monnaie du Temple.

 

            Beaucoup crurent en lui durant cette période, à cause des miracles qu'il opérait.  Quelques-uns croyaient en lui sans hésitation et d'une foi très profonde.  D'autres refusaient absolument de croire et le rejetaient avec violence.  Mais la grande majorité restaient à demi-chemin, animés d'une foi ambiguë – un mélange de religiosité naturelle et d'attrait pour tout ce qui est extraordinaire et miraculeux – une foi sans engagement.

 

            Un de ces croyants ambigus était Nicodème.  J'aime beaucoup Nicodème, parce qu'il est vraiment l'un d'entre nous.  Il croit, mais n'a pas le courage d'assumer toutes les conséquences de sa foi;  et pourtant Jésus le prend au sérieux.  Étant docteur en Israël, il connaît les Écritures.  Il peut donc observer que Dieu est vraiment avec ce Jésus de Nazareth; mais il ne va pas jusqu'à reconnaître que Dieu est dans Jésus.  Il vient à lui afin d'apprendre de lui;  mais il vient de nuit.  C'est un chercheur;  mais un chercheur dans l'obscurité.  Sa foi va croître;  mais il restera toujours un peu ambigu.  Il se  sent proche de Jésus, mais reste loin de lui.  Il sera au Jardin des Oliviers au moment de la sépulture de Jésus, mais pas trop proche.

 

            L'Évangile d'aujourd'hui est tiré du dialogue en Jésus et Nicodème raconté au début de l'Évangile de Jean. Jésus le prend là où il est dans son cheminement et le conduit plus loin, en avant.  Tout comme Il fait avec nous lorsque nous allons nous aussi vers Lui dans nos ténèbres.  Nicodème était venu à Jésus cherchant la lumière dans les ténèbres;  mais ténèbres et lumière ne vont pas ensemble;  Jésus le presse donc de choisir entre lumière et ténèbres.

 

            La véritable lumière est celle de la Transfiguration.  Elle implique la mort;  mais elle exige aussi d'agir en vérité.  Le salut n'est pas de ceux qui ont de vagues croyances, mais de ceux qui agissent en vérité ou encore, pour traduire littéralement l'original grec, ceux qui "font la vérité".

 

            La nouveauté du message de Jésus apparaît dans toute sa lumière.  Le message est que Dieu n'est pas un principe premier éternel et immobile comme le dieu des philosophes.  Dieu a un avenir;  et son avenir est entre les mains des hommes.  Le salut n'est pas au bout de l'histoire, mais au coeur de celle-ci.  La croix est plantée au coeur de l'histoire humaine, au coeur d'un monde dévoré par les conflits et la misère.  Le monde des puissants, où les petits sont écrasés et piétinés, était le monde que Jésus connaissait;  c'est le monde qui l'a mis à mort, le monde qu'il est venu racheter.

 

            C'est en assumant la misère humaine que Jésus nous a rendu possible d'en être délivré.  Non pas par des miracles – ces signes que les Pharisiens réclament comme preuve de sa messianité -- mais par la transfiguration des yeux et des coeurs des hommes.   Aujourd'hui la Croix du Christ est plantée au coeur du Kosovo, du Moyen-Orient, du Congo, et de tant d'autres parties du monde, en ce troisième millénaire dont l'enfantement est accompagné de tant de douleurs et de gémissements.  L'avenir de ces pays et de leurs peuples, c'est notre avenir;  c'est surtout l'avenir de Dieu;  et cet avenir dépend de nous.  Il dépend de ce que nos yeux sont ou non assez transfigurés pour voir le signe de la croix plantée au coeur de cette humanité souffrante et ensanglantée.